Konstancin-Jeziorna is a picturesque health resort situated about 20 km from Warsaw's city centre. Visitors can easily get here by car - heading south from Warsaw (road N° 724) or by bus: line 700 – from Central Warsaw railway station, and line 710 - from „Wilanowska” metro station. Both buses stop in Wilanów and Powsin.
A young town with a rich tradition
Konstancin-Jeziorna was founded quite recently by the combination of many smaller localities of diverse character: Chylice - a summer resort, Skolimów, a summer and health resort - Konstancin, and the town ofJeziorna with its industrial district of Mirków, the combination also included many other nearby villages. The town is situated close to the capital city and is surrounded by forest and fauna. It possesses a unique micro climate, a spa park with a salt graduation tower and a pre-war summer resort, architecture found in parts of the town.This all results in the fact that Konstancin-Jeziorna remains a choice location for rest and relaxation for many of Warsaw’s inhabitants, and for decades it has also been a perfect place for residence.
The oldest part of today’s town is Jeziorna, which was noted in historical documents dating back to the 15th century as a part of the Obory Estate. An interesting fact to note here is that it became infamous in later centuries, especially among the Warsaw aristocracy as a location for duelling. In 1776 the then leaseholder built a paper and grain mill on the banks of the Jeziorka river. Since 1776, because of this enterprise, Jeziorna has remained a major site for paper production.
The beginnings of Konstancin can be traced back to 1897. Count Witold Skórzewski of the aristocratic Potulicki family, owner of the Obory Estate decided to found a summer resort by dividing the land into plots. He gave it the name of Konstancja after his mother Konstancja Skórzewska née Potulicka.The new locality was very modern for those times. All the erected houses were equipped with electricity, sewage, water, and telephone lines, the roads were paved and pave ments were built on at least one side of them. Avenues were marked out, municipal parks were established, a grocery shop and a restaurant were established also. At the same time great care was taken to properly advertise the newly created summer resort in the press in nearby Warsaw, which had significant influence on the resort's dynamic development.
Konstancin was granted the status of a health reort for the first time in 1917. In 1948 the Hospital of Osteology was opened after the evacuation of the Holy Spirit Hospital in Warsaw, which later was renamed the Capital Rehabilitation Centre (STOCER). The physiotherapeutic value of Konstancin was once more noted in 1956 and coincided with the discovery of saline deposits. From that point on, another stage of Konstancin’s development as a health resort began and as a consequence the foundation of hospitals and health centres treating rheumatologic, neurologic, cardiologic, and laryn gological ailments. A state enterprise “Uzdrowisko Konstancin” (Konstancin Health Resort) was founded, and in the 1970s the Konstancin salt graduation tower was built. In 1976 The Centre of Education and Physiotherapy for the Handicapped (today’s CKR) in Królewska Góra was opened.
This part of the suburban health resort, althoughless well-known, has a much longer history. As a summer resort, Skolimów was already known in the second half of the 19th century when the first wooden summer houses were built. At the end of the 19th century the then owner of the Skolimów grange, Wactaw Preker, divided the wastelands of his estate into sites. Ever since then Skolimów together with Konstancin, despite fierce rivalry between the two for the victor’s crown, have formed an urban whole of sorts. A transportation connection with Warsaw by means of the Wilanów train and a bus line, set up by the SKOWAR company belonging to a citizen of Skolimów Herman Paulinek, had significant influence on the development of both localities. He was also responsible for building a network of roads together with pavements in the health resort, he founded the first shop, and established the Skolimów fire brigade.
Chylice first appeared in historical documents dating back to the 16th century. In 1897 the property came into the possession of Wacław Preker, also the owner of the Skolimów property, who also divided the land into plots and established yet another health resort. At the begining of the 20th century, a Warsaw paediatrician named dr lreneusz Frenkel set up an incredibly modern sanatorium for sick children. After World War I, the Chylice summer resort developed as rapidly as nearby Skolimów and Konstancin, and an estate and mansion were located in the vicinity. The estate is currently located within the borders of Chylice village and the summer resort within the borders of Konstancin-Jeziorna.
Town rights were granted after the merger of the summer resort settlements Skolimów-Konstancin in 1952. In 1969 nearby Jeziorna was added (town rights granted in 1962) and the town of Konstancin-Jeziorna was established. The historical distinction of the separate districts and the Genesis of the name has faded in the minds of tourists and citizens and they accept the name as it is.